2021-2022 AFHL Award Winners Announced

RED DEER – The Alberta Female Hockey League has announced its award winners for the 2021-22 season.

Four awards are handed out in each league: Most Valuable Player, Top Goaltender, Top Rookie, and Coach of the Year.

U15 AA

Co-Most Valuable Players – Emelia McDermid (Olds Grizzlys) & Paige Smith (St. Albert Chargers)
Top Rookie – Parker Small (Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs)
Top Defense – Cadence Richards (St. Albert Chargers)
Top Goaltender – Brylee Hull (Red Deer)
Coach of the Year – Tara Swanson (Sherwood Park Royals)

U18 AA

Most Valuable Player – Sophy Aldred (Calgary Fire White)
Top Rookie – Shae LaPrade (Calgary Fire White)
Top Defense – Kayleigh Dixon (Sherwood Park Fury)
Top Goaltender – Dakota Smith (Airdrie Lightning)
Coach of the Year – Brent McAuley (Red Deer)


Most Valuable Player – Cassidy Rhodes (Edmonton Pandas)
Top Rookie – Kalle Hastman (Calgary Fire)
Top Defense – Sadie Makokis (Edmonton Pandas)
Top Goaltender – Lindsey Johnson (Edmonton Pandas)
Coach of the Year – Brett Wold (Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs)

All awards were presented to the winners during each division’s Provincial Championship weekend.